Tags

, , , , ,

Maybe it comes with the age, maybe it is because of all the intensive news from Hungary through the past week, but I happened to be thinking a lot about Hungary and our recent family trip there.

First it was a mixture of serious, record flooding through the path of the Danube River. Then there was the overwhelmingly large number of shares of the story about a Hungarian group winning on Britain’s Got Talent show. (click here if the YouTube clip would not open)

Then on Monday I run into a song on YouTube that I happened to listen few days before our family trip to Hungary and I ended up listening it again, while I was searching for reviews about various marathon training plans.

Then I remembered again why I love running so much and I remembered how much I have been waiting for running in Hungary. And then I remembered how much I enjoyed one of my morning runs while staying in my hometown and ended running through a route that took me through places with countless memories.

Miskolc Avas on Wikipedia

Miskolc Avas on Wikipedia

Can you recognize the common detail on this photo and the Avas Wikipedia screenshot?

Can you recognize the common detail on this photo and the Avas Wikipedia screenshot?

Funny how the mind sometimes browses through different memories and few memories later you are just wondering how you ended up thinking on Monday evening about a morning run that happened more than two months ago thousands of miles away.

Thousands of miles away, running in my Indianapolis Monumental (Half) Marathon shirt

Thousands of miles away, running in my Indianapolis Monumental (Half) Marathon shirt

Actually there is nothing wrong with it, I was happy to remember for that run. It made me smile and it made me wanted to go out and run. Despite it was around 11PM on a Monday evening, the family sleeping, I was sitting on the couch quietly and happy.

On the top of the hill, feeling like on the top of the World...

On the top of the hill, feeling like on the top of the World…

On the top of the hill, feeling like on the top of the World...

On the top of the hill, feeling like on the top of the World…

Starting at the top of the hill, I knew that the going downhill will be definitely much easier than climbing back up at the end. Nevertheless feeling strong and excited, I starting running on the sidewalks, passing people on the Avas as they were waiting for the bus. Going down the hill through the same streets I have been walking countless times. Running past the University of Miskolc which provided countless great memories. Headed to Miskolc-Tapolca, where I have been so many times previously, starting at a very young age. I have seen it through it evolution and seen it looking again very different compared to ten years ago. Finishing a loop through Miskolc-Tapolca, visiting the playground where I have played so many times. Here I stopped quite frequently just taking a really good look around and absorbing every little detail that I thought have changed: how nicely the hillside has been cleaned up, the expanded Thermal Spa and otherwise how it did not change to be that quiet, calm place as I remembered.

Miskolc-Tapolca is calm...

Miskolc-Tapolca is calm…

Miskolc-Tapolca is calm...

Miskolc-Tapolca is calm…

Then I headed back towards the Avas Hill. Passing again the University of Miskolc and a swimming pool I have never seen before. Then following the route of bus 31 (which I rode so many times) I started my seemingly endless climb back to the top.

This was the first time I think  I did not really care about the my time, I just decided to utilize running as my “local transportation” and with all the stops and taking pictures, I ended up accumulating about 9.2 miles  covering it in 95 memory-filled minutes.

You didn't think that I run 95 miles, did you?

You didn’t think that I run 95 miles, did you?

In its own way, this has been my best run until now…

What was your best run ever?

