Tags

, , ,

Have you ever felt after a training run that it just made you want to run again… immediately? This weird thing just happened to me yesterday.

Usually I finish a run with a great, satisfying feeling of a mini-accomplishment. Yesterday morning was different.

We planned to run a 5k distance with my new running mate/date (= my wife). We discussed how far we are going to run also from which point onward we will turn on the back-burners  but nothing more. So we ended up running the first 2.5 miles really slow (slower than any of us wanted), but for some reason we just not talk much during the run and so we never recognized, that we would be happier with a faster run. Somehow we ended running me slightly in front of my running date. I kept an eye on her and as she was not getting closer, I thought I was already running too fast for him, so I never increased my speed. As it turned out she thought that I am running too slowly, but never said anything other than an occasional “ice” to let me know that we are running through icy patches of the road.

Heart Rate under control...

Heart Rate under control…

Since we were both running at full speed from 2.5 miles until the invisible finish line at 3.1 miles, for me this strange short run ended with another sad humiliation: losing again with quite a bit of a distance…

Too slow...

Too slow…

So from my own selfish point of view a shorter distance than it was in my training plan, did not have the hills that I wanted to take advantage of and at the end it just reminded me how much I am not a speedster.

Not the speed we wanted...

Not the speed we wanted…

My running date was disappointed that she was far from her 27:00 target for her first 5k that is coming up in March. So after we started talking again at home we both quickly agreed that we need to run more and we need to run again as soon as possible.

In my case that run came this morning and I have never been happier while I was dressing up for my morning run. I hope you had an amazing run today, too…

