Tags

, , , ,

Thursday morning I passed a huge personal milestone. Some weeks ago I saw that it is now surprisingly close, then I forgot to check on that until I check the latest running status on Thursday morning.

1001.30 miles done...

1001.30 miles done, took only 150 hours to get here…

It took Thursday mornings simulated hill repeats on the treadmill to pass 1000 miles

It took Thursday morning’s simulated hill repeats on the treadmill to pass 1000 miles

Just passed 1000 miles running!!! All, but 27 of these miles were run since January 1, 2012, so took a little over a year. Funny to look back on the training Diary and see that it took me 12 runs in 2011 to accumulate those 27 miles. This year I am training for running 26.2 on a single morning…

Let the lifestyle change begin: started picking up in 2011 December

Let the lifestyle change begin: started picking up in 2011 December

I went back into my archive and found the old Excel sheet I used to track my running when I started and kept up with regular running for a few months through 2010, then sporadically in 2011. These runs accumulated to 110.3 miles through 37 runs (these miles were not included in the 1001.30 count). My very first “getting back to shape” running was on a 3.7 miles long loop on August 16, 2010. I ended up walking most of the distance and it took me 53 minutes and 1 second to complete. 14:20/mile pace. Today I am aiming to run close to 8:00/mile average on a 13.1 miles long race (I know it is an ambitious goal for me, but what could I say?). It took me 10 weeks to reach the point that I could run through the 3.7 miles long loop without switching to walking. On November 1, 2010 I finished the 3.7 miles in 38 minutes and 45 seconds. A 10:28.mile pace. I remember I was so happy, Then during the 2010 Christmas Holidays I stopped running. Picked it up again several times through 2011. If I say I picked up again several times, then you are right: it also means that I gave up running several times. Then the last run in 2011 was on August 29. 1.8 miles in 17 minutes and 2 seconds. 9:28/mile pace. My best effort for the same 1.8 miles recorded three days earlier as 16:51 with a 9:22/mile pace.

In comparison: I just finished running this morning 10 miles in 1:32:11 with a 9:11/mile pace. In 18F Michigan winter weather with snow and ice on the roads. Not that it is a superhuman performance that I did today, but it is definitely would have looked as a superhuman effort for me back in 2011.

Refreshing 10 miles this morning...

Refreshing 10 miles this morning…

Besides me getting better at running longer distances at a stronger pace, here are  6 other differences I see between 2011 and the 2013 Me:

      • I feel a great improvement in my overall fitness. I do not start sweating just because I had to walk up the stairs.
      • I feel more confident, my confidence boosted by my running race accomplishments (on my own scale). Running showed me, that I am capable to achieve more. I never thought I could run 13 miles continuously and now I am aiming to run twice as much. The old me would have been afraid of taking on certain challenges in life. Not anymore.
      • My view on life has changed completely: going from a “live to work“ to “work to live” mindset. Let me know if you need my help to explain the difference…
      • It feels great to show positive example to our kids: I am not saying our lifestyle is the best ever, but showing them the example of an active lifestyle is definitely much better than the coach-potato lifestyle. (another reason I want to go back in time to talk to myself in 2011).
      • Changed clothes. In order to look semi-decent, I had to replace my wardrobe: went from size L to size S/M.
      • And at age 35 I finally found the first thing that I am really passionate about: running. I have been always jealous when I heard others talking about their hobbies very passionately. I was jealous not because others had found their thing already, but because through all these years I never found mine. But all this has changed in 2012.

So if you are looking for something to do or something new to try or just simply want to get out of the house, why don’t you go and run/jog/walk a few miles, whatever distance you feel like? And in the meantime Happy Onethousandmilesrunning-versary for me…

