Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For a few months now I have been exercising regularly, which helped to get in a much better shape, lose weight and in general just feel much better.

Besides concluding that I belong now to the One Percent, recently I started to think about having superpowers as well. Not sure how many different superpowers exist, but I thought I have two of them: running very fast and teleporting. Being an engineer of course I had scientific proof for that as well:

Running fast: as you can see, I was running as fast as 24.8MPH. Only to put it into perspective how fast I can be: Usain Bolt run top speed when he broke the 100m World Record was 27.79MPH. Sometimes even I am surprised how good I am… 🙂

I have superpower: I can run very fast

I have superpower: I can run very fast

Teleporting: the red line shows my position and within a very short amount of time I jumped through buildings, covered hundreds of feet distance. Sometimes even I am surprised how good I am… 🙂

I have superpower: I can teleport

I have superpower: I can teleport

Or as another possible explanation maybe this latest version 1.7 update for the Sports Tracker iPhone app on May 16, 2012 was just very-very necessary. In my case I reached my virtual boiling point earlier this week, when I seriously started looking into replacing the Sports Tracker app with another alternative. Here are a couple additional screen shots showing how bad it was on the same route:

I still had both of my superpowers

I still had both of my superpowers

Telling the truth switching to another app would have been similar to a decision when you breaking up with someone. I started using this app long time ago, when I started any kind running activity, although at that time it was not really running, but more like “public struggling”. Since then at a continuously increasing pace I started to accumulate miles, accumulate burnt calories and tried to track my progress. But the serious inaccuracies in the captured data were more and more annoying to the point, that I was ready to pull the plug and switch to another app (there are plenty of alternatives out there). Then all of a sudden an automatic update notification appeared on my phone and I just had my first run earlier this afternoon since the update to version 1.7.

I am still careful to declare, that all concerns are gone, but this first run with version 1.7 seems to filter out all of the annoying incorrect data from the route, speed and altitude recordings. I guess this was enough to give another chance. Same route today as my superpower route above, but this time recorded with version 1.7.

There are still plenty of things to improve, but data recording is the most important feature of this app in my opinion. And all in all I still think that for a free app this is a great app for an iPhone.

So my superpowers seem to be gone. Let’s wait and see if I can get them back, but this is one of those rare cases, when I would be happy not to…

