Tags

, , ,

… or actually the more I think about it, I would prefer six hands.

These were my first thoughts while I was trying to figure out how to put together without any help a sphere 3D puzzle that my three years old daughter received earlier today.

She went to a kids Zumba class. She received this as a gift, still put together to its intended final shape, but by the time we met in the evening, she already took it apart. So the only thing I saw was six pieces: five identical shapes, only their colors were different, and a sixth piece (blue) looked almost exactly the same as the other five, except two small cutouts.

Looked completely pointless at first sight. How are they supposed to look like, once they are put together? How should they be put together? And even what is the name of this game? I am from Hungary and I would not even know its name in Hungarian, let alone in English.

Yes, I had a pretty long way to go… 🙂

Well after a couple of very shameful attempt I asked help from my good buddy Mr Google and came up with two pictures of toys with prices, but no success in terms of learning what the secret is putting this “thing” together.

Glad that somebody could put this together...

Glad that somebody could put this together...

Right bottom corner: this is what I try to put together

Right bottom corner: this is what I try to put together

So I had to go back to keep trying on my own. Just me, myself and the “sphere something”…

I almost forgot to mention one very important thing: my six years old daughter has prepared written instructions on how to put this “thing” together:

Original manual: one day it will worth a lot...

Original manual: one day it will worth a lot...

How could I fail with such clear description?

How could I fail with such clear description?

And the steps to complete this impossible task…

Step 01: Lets get this started

"Let's get ready to rumble!"

"Let's get ready to rumble!"

Step 02: Trying to hold the pieces together

First time making any visible progress

First time making any visible progress

Step 03: Sure at the first moment when I thought I was getting close, this happened

Don't give up when things falling apart...

Don't give up when things falling apart...

Step 04: After several attempts, this is how it looks like, when it looks like it is almost done, but in reality it is almost falling apart again

Thin line between success and failure

Thin line between success and failure

Step 05: And finally: Victory! 🙂

Mission accomplished!

Mission accomplished!

The most challenging part was to figure out how to put the last piece (blue) into place. I kept failing as I was keep holding so tight the other five pieces, trying to prevent them from falling apart over and over again. Then after taking a deep breath I followed the “more brain than brawn” way of thinking. I just slightly loosened up the parts to be able to fit the blue piece. Done.

What is the moral of this story?

Just the same old truth: never give up. If you run into difficulties, stop for a moment, take a deep breath, look through your options, choose one and go with it. If You see a change in direction is necessary, then change directions. And confirmed again that “more brain than brawn” still holds true…

By the way do You know the name of this toy? 🙂

